The 12 Days of Formula E

T’was 12 days before the season, and all through the lands,
Were enthusiastic and eager fans,
They marked off their calendars, and patiently stared,
For hopes their favorite racing season had neared,
The Gen 2 cars were prepped and primed,
Teams and drivers had already been timed,
New gear galore, with team shirts and hats,
Don’t forget stockings, jackets and caps,
Wearing team pride, is it for Andretti, Techeetah?
Nissan, Venturi, Abt Schaeffler, Mahindra?
Maybe for Virgin, Jaguar returns,
As HWA, Dragon, Nio will also take the turns,
Don’t forget the Fanboost, voters be aware,
Of the extra 50kW you can award the most fair,
There’s “Mariokart” mode, oh yes it is true,
25kW extra boost like a mushroom, oooooh,
So we shall go through with patience the next 12 days,
With fun facts and figures to keep your excitement ablaze,
Fear not, we promise, it’ll start soon,
And we can revel in electric racing again, such a boon,
Until then we wait, and then we shall see,
Who will be the champion for ‘18/’19 Formula E.

It’s finally here. The much-awaited, 2018/2019 Formula E season has arrived. And as a treat, GpGrl is mixing it up and bringing you 12 days of facts about the upcoming season, with the final day landing on race day in Saudi Arabia, December 15th.

So check in daily, and get ready because the Formula E 2018/2019  season is almost underway.

(Read title like you would,  “On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me…”)

“Only 12 days left to wait for Formula E season to begin…”

This season Formula E will race 13 times in 12 different cities, starting with an inaugural race in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, and ending with the season finale double-header on the streets of New York City.

What to expect in Saudi Arabia? A 1.55 mile (2.495km) track with 21 turns, which will feel even tighter with an expanded, 22 car grid. The addition of two new cars is thanks to the debut of the HWA Race Lab team this season. Two new manufacturers make their debut as well, with BMW who partnered with Andretti to form BMW i-Andretti Motorsport, and Nissan replaces Renault to form the now Nissan e.dams team. 

Don’t forget, the 2017/2018 Formula E Championship winner Jean-Eric Vergne returns with Techeetah to defend his title, but Lucas di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler) and Sam Bird (Envision Virgin), the runners-up for last season, will be back to fight as well. Will we see yet another new championship winner for the season, or will we have our very first two-time winner?

Stay tuned for the next 11 days for more facts and figures, as we await the start of the season.

Img: Roadshow and press launch in Ad Diriyah, courtesy of Formula E

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s